Some reviews and info on the book “Mutant Message Down Under” by Marlo Morgan

A former college suggested I should read a book and I ordered it from the library. After 3-4 weeks I asked if the book had arrived, and now it was on its way. Finally it arrived and I started reading. I was thrilled, loved what I read. I was about to recommend the book to another person and searched for the english title. I found it. But I also found other information about the book. I haven’t finished the book yet, as the info made me annoyed and sad. But I’ve decided to finish it anyway. Below is two links with info:

Helping Yourself: Fabrication of Aboriginal Culture   By Cath Ellis

Morgan’s Mutant Fantasy: A critique of Marlo Morgan’s book Mutant Message Down Under  By Chris Sitka (Napaltjarri)

I belive it’s good to always question what you hear and read, but I never questioned the book as she wrote in the edition I have that one can read it as a fiction. So she doesn’t say the story is true but doesn’t deny its authenticity either. Yet I’m a bit disappointed. But please read the book, but do read at least the link above “Morgan’s Mutant Fantasy: A critique of Marlo Morgan’s book Mutant Message Down Under”, where a lot of good info about the aboriginal culture and customs is to be found.

Here is a third link: Documentary Film: The Secret Country: The First Australians Fight Back

Here is a link to a letter where Burnum Burnum retract his letter in the end of the book: Burnum Burnum Retraction  Linked from:  ” Radio interview With Marlo Morgan “

I finished the book today, Sunday 18th of May. It is sad she wasn’t honest from the beginning, now I had to alter my mind from believing this was a documentary to learn it was fiction. Well, she’s at least a story-teller.

About Lotta's Corner

Female vegan animal lover who believe environmental issues are important.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some reviews and info on the book “Mutant Message Down Under” by Marlo Morgan

  1. Reblogged this on Lottas ullisar and commented:

    Finished reading the book Mutant Message Down Under” today. Did add one more informational link I found.

Leave a Reply

