FORL – Feline Odontoclastic Resorptive Lesions #wlf

To my friends and comrades of the #wlf
So many of you have asked questions and showed support and I didn’t know how to answer in a tweet so I put this together and hope I’ve covered it all. I’m very grateful for all your care and attention.

Yrsa has FORL
Yesterday, Wed 7 sep 2011, we went to the veterinary hospital where Yrsa had to remove 7 teeth.
She will get painkillers for a few days and may just eat soft food as she has suture in her mouth.
I got a paper with me as we left the hospital: “Advice for care at home” One thing was I shouldn’t brush her teeth for at least 10-12 days 🙂 That is really funny when you know Yrsa’s story… Well, it was nice to get a good laugh. I guess it’s standard phrases, but yet…

Yrsa is a feral cat and has made good progress in becoming a domestic cat, as she was approx four years old when she was trapped and turned seven in March. She was severely injured and had to have her tail amputated. I’ve been told she was very hard to handle and they had to use some kind of snare while bringing her to the vet. So I can imagine she doesn’t have a great trust in humans. I will never get to know the whole story of her life, but I know enough to realise she need special care. In the beginning she only sat in a corner. I thought they had cut ALL of her tail, couldn’t se any. But a few months after she had moved in with us (I had a beautiful cat named Felix at the time) she showed her thump! I was so happy, as I thought it was a sign of her being a bit more secure. But she still didn’t move around much or play.
A lot has happend since and now she lets me pet her when feeding and when I pay a visit to the toilet… She enjoys it too! But it is always on her terms.

Dentures for cats
I’ve never heard there are any dentures for cats, but I Googled and found this story of some sturdents from 2008. Can’t find any related articles, but maybe someone know if there are any news on this issue.
Fangs A Lot

FORL – Excerpt from Wikipedia:

Treatment for FORLs is limited to tooth extraction to create a mouth free of pain.
Amputation of the tooth crown without root removal has also been advocated in cases free of periodontal disease because the roots often completely resorb.
However, X-rays are recommended prior to this treatment to document root resorption and lack of the periodontal ligament.

Tooth restoration is not recommended because resorption of the tooth will continue underneath the restoration.
Use of alendronate has been studied to prevent FORLs and decrease progression of existing lesions.

FORL – Source: Wikipedia.

Thank you all for kind thoughts and support! ♥ 2 all #pawcircle #softpaws #purrayers

About Lotta's Corner

Female vegan animal lover who believe environmental issues are important.
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FORL – Feline Odontoclastic Resorptive Lesions #wlf

  1. Mr Tibbs says:

    We have had 3 cats who had to have all their teeth removed. They were so much better afterwards – no pain. All of them were able to eat just about anything – even kibble, but we make sure we give small pieces of meat and wet food is chopped/mashed for easy licking.

    • Hi Mr Tibbs, Thank you for commenting.
      Yes, I’ve read that it shouldn’t be any trouble for cats to eat even though they have no teeth. And now you verify it, I’m grateful for that.
      FORL is quite common but yet not many know about it. I don’t know, but it might be that it’s more common among feral cats even if also domestic cat get it. There are not many reserches made. When I gooeld there was one from 1922 (if I recall right, but it was very long time ago) and then one 2002. Probably not of any great interrest as it’s “just cats”.
      Yrsa like her food mashed 🙂 But on the other hand – she’d eat anything as long as it is food.

      All the best
      Lotta

Leave a Reply

